top of page


Heunginjimun, literally "Gate of Rising Benevolence" or more commonly known as Dongdaemun.

It is one of The Eight Gates of Seoul in the Fortress Wall of Seoul, a prominent landmark in central Seoul, South Korea.


1 km from this place

DDP (Dongdaemun Design Plaza)



DDP is a major urban development landmark in Seoul, South Korea designed by Zaha Hadid and Samoo, with a distinctively neofuturistic design characterized by the "powerful, curving forms of elongated structures". The landmark is the centerpiece of South Korea's fashion hub and popular tourist destination, Dongdaemun, featuring a walkable park on its roofs, large global exhibition spaces, futuristic retail stores and restored parts of the Seoul fortress.

Dongdaemun Market



Dongdaemun Market is near Dongdaemun(동대문) from which it takes its name. The market is divided into five shopping districts—A, B, C, D and a shopping town, with 26 shopping malls over 10 blocks, 30,000 speciality shops, and 50,000 manufacturers. The market sells all types of goods but notably silks and fabric, clothes, shoes and leather goods, sporting goods, plumbing and electronics, office supplies, fortune tellers, toys and food areas specialising in Korean cuisine.

Dongmyo Market



Every day an array of street stalls open up along the stone walls of Dongmyo Park(동묘공원). The main items bought and sold here are antiques of every type, including items such as wallets, electronics, old books, film posters etc. Recently vintage clothing and shoes have become the main area of interest. Prices are typically around 1,000 won so you can have fun browsing and shopping without worrying about the cost.


Sungshin Women’s University

​Sungshin Women’s University (Korean: 성신여자대학교) is a private women’s university located in Seoul, South Korea. It was founded in 1936 by Dr. Sook-Chong Lee. During the 1960s and 70s, Sungshin was well known as a prestigious Teachers College in South Korea.

Hanyang University



It's main campus is in Seoul, and the second one, the Education Research Industry Cluster at Ansan, or ERICA campus, is located in Ansan.

Hanyang (한양;漢陽) derives from the former name of the capital Seoul which was used during the Chosun Dynasty.

Korea University



(Hangul: 고려대학교; Hanja: 高麗大學校; RR: Goryeo Daehakgyo)
It was established in 1905, making it one of the nation's oldest institutions of higher education. The student body consists of over 20,000 undergraduate students and over 10,000 graduate students.

Kyunghee University



It is Founded in 1948 as Dongyang College and reorganized in 1965 into the Kyung Hee College of Korean Medicine (KHKM), KHKM is one of eleven Korean medical colleges in the country, dedicated to the study of traditional medical practice.

The University of Seoul



It is a public university located in Seoul, Korea. It was founded as Kyung Sung Public Agricultural College in 1918 and renamed the University of Seoul in 1997. UOS is one of top 3 universities without medical school in Korea in 2012

Hankuk University of

Foreign Studies (HUFS)


It was founded in 1954 to promote foreign language education in Korea.

The name of the university is derived from the romanization of the Korean word hankuk (Korean: 한국; Hanja: 韓國) which means Korea.

bottom of page